Quantcast
Review Recap: February 2010 - Destructoid

DestructoidJapanatorTomopopFlixist



Review Recap: February 2010


4:40 PM on 03.04.2010
Review Recap: February 2010 photo



(Review Recap is a monthly feature that recaps all of Destructoid's reviews for a month. It's meant to be a way to give you quick access to our opinions on all the latest games.)

So... we reviewed some games last month. While not quite as jam packed with AAA releases as January there were still some major games landing. We kicked off the month with a pool game and closed it with... well, I'm not really sure what kind of game Deadly Premonition is, but we liked it. We liked it a lot.

Of course neither of those games were the big releases for the month of February. No, this month was not just about pool halls and games that don't make sense. This month kicked off a new franchise (we assume) in Dante's Inferno, had the return of a game that many don't think should have been franchised in BioShock 2, and had a game that, according to some, is a turning point in how we interact with our games and movies. I am, of course, once again talking about Deadly Premonition in the latter part of that sentence.

That was pretty much it for the month, but I'll recap the rest of the reviews for your pleasure. Hit the jump to find out our quick shots of all the biggest and smallest games of the month, and then hit the reviews to see why we really liked or hated them. Who knows, you may notice a game you missed and we loved or a game you loved and we hated. I think there was some sort of orgami simulator on the PS3. Folding paper into animal shapes in hi-def is cool, I suppose.

Thanks to Rockvillian for the art!

Alien vs. Predator (PS3, Xbox 360 [reviewed], PC [reviewed])

Fans of the franchise should definitely check it out, but as the game exists right now, it's not worth all your cash.

Score: 6.5 -- Alright (6s may be slightly above average or simply inoffensive. Fans of the genre should enjoy them a bit, but a fair few will be left unfulfilled.)

BioShock 2 (PC, PS3, Xbox 360 [reviewed])

BioShock 2's single-player campaign trades in some narrative quality for superior gameplay, and it's a fair trade indeed ... Perhaps the worst that can be said of BioShock 2 is that it lacks the "wow" factor of the original.

Overall Score: 8.0 -- Great (8s are impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.)

Chime (XBLA)

When a game comes along that is this visually, audibly, and mentally pleasing, it's not something to ignore.

Score: 7.0 -- Good (7s are solid games that definitely have an audience. Might lack replay value, could be too short or there are some hard-to-ignore faults, but the experience is fun.)

Dante's Inferno [PlayStation 3 (reviewed), Xbox 360 (reviewed)]

...you're going to get the best Dante's Inferno experience when you let go. Let go of the comparisons. Let go of your contempt for what it may or may not do for and to the source material. Just let go and have fun.

Score: 9.0 -- Superb (9s are a hallmark of excellence. There may be flaws, but they are negligible and won't cause massive damage to what is a supreme title.)

Deadly Premontion (Xbox 360)

So says Mr. Stewart!

Score: 10 -- Flawless Victory (10s are as close to perfect as you will get in a genre or on a platform. Pure, untarnished videogame ecstasy.)

Dynasty Warriors: Strikeforce (Xbox 360, PS3 [reviewed])

A truly great game, let down only by the fact that the PSP version existed for long enough to steal some of its thunder.

Score: 8.5 -- Great (8s are impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.)

Endless Ocean: Blue World (Wii)

The game is harmless, pleasant, relaxing, and just makes you feel really good inside. And compared to the first game, that is a marked improvement ... Also, dolphins! (OMG!)

Score: 8.0 -- Great (8s are impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.)

Galcon Fusion (PC/Mac/Linux)

All in all, Galcon is a tremendously easy game to recommend to anyone with access to an iPhone or iPod touch; Galcon Fusion is slightly harder to vouch for.

Score: 5.0 -- Mediocre (5s are an exercise in apathy, neither Solid nor Liquid. Not exactly bad, but not very good either. Just a bit "meh," really.)

Heavy Rain (PlayStation 3)

Heavy Rain is an experiment that both succeeded and failed, when it could easily have been a total success if the brains behind it weren't trying so hard to be smart, and cared more about providing a sensible plot as opposed to a shocking one.

Score: 7.0 -- Good (7s are solid games that definitely have an audience. Might lack replay value, could be too short or there are some hard-to-ignore faults, but the experience is fun.)

Hustle Kings (PSN)

With its robust online options and excellent physics, Hustle Kings is excellent if occasionally frustrating fun.

Score: 8 -- Great (8s are impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.)

Last Rebellion (PS3)

Last Rebellion is underproduced, underdeveloped, unrefined, unpolished, and ultimately forgettable.

Score: 5 -- Mediocre (5s are an exercise in apathy, neither Solid nor Liquid. Not exactly bad, but not very good either. Just a bit "meh," really.)

The Magic Obelisk (WiiWare)


The Magic Obelisk has so many things going for it. It has really unique light-based puzzle game play, super cute graphics and characters, and a fantastic price tag.

8 -- Great (8s are impressive efforts with a few noticeable problems holding them back. Won't astound everyone, but is worth your time and cash.)

The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom (XBLA)

The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom is like a good pie, the kind mothers used to make.

Score: 9.5 -- Superb (9s are a hallmark of excellence. There may be flaws, but they are negligible and won't cause massive damage to what is a supreme title.)

Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey (DS)

As far as Nintendo DS role-playing games go, this is my new favorite, hands down. But then again, I'm a huge fan of both dungeon crawling and Atlus' Shin Megami Tensei series games ... You've got to know what you're getting into. If you do, Strange Journey is highly recommended.

Score: 9 -- Superb (9s are a hallmark of excellence. There may be flaws, but they are negligible and won't cause massive damage to what is a supreme title.)

Shiren the Wanderer (Wii)

Yeah, BITCH! Where you at?

Hmm, this game is kinda fun.

Score7 -- Good (7s are solid games that definitely have an audience. Might lack replay value, could be too short or there are some hard-to-ignore faults, but the experience is fun.)

White Knight Chronicles (International Edition) (PS3)

Short? Yeah. Rough around the edges? Sure. But it's not a bad game.

Score: 6 -- Alright (6s may be slightly above average or simply inoffensive. Fans of the genre should enjoy them a bit, but a fair few will be left unfulfilled.)






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.






reviews

1:00 PM on 04.14.2014
Review: Half-Minute Hero: The Second Coming

The original Half-Minute Hero was a very special and intriguing game. It boiled down an entire genre to its barest essentials, reducing the interminably long JRPG to just thirty seconds of gameplay. Both a heartfelt tribute a...more



12:00 PM on 04.10.2014
Review: MLB 14 The Show

I was ready for last year’s The Show to be its PS3 swansong, I was feeling it. It’s not that it wasn’t good. It was as good as it ever was. But there were signs of age. The same old horrifying fan models in ...more



4:00 PM on 04.09.2014
Review: Neo XYX

The shoot-'em-up genre will never perish, and neither will the Dreamcast. No matter how niche it can get at times, shooters old and new come out of the woodwork in the most unexpected of places, from Steam to legacy consoles. One such release is Neo XYX, a new (yes, in 2014) game for the Sega's last console, making this the second Dreamcast release this year. It's also the best.more



View all reviews






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more