Quantcast
Review: Dr. Luigi - Destructoid




Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android


Dr. Luigi  




Review: Dr. Luigi photo
Review: Dr. Luigi

6:00 PM on 12.31.2013

A fitting end to the first Year of Luigi


Dr. Mario is the bane of my puzzle gaming career. I loved it ever since I picked it up for the first time in 1990, but I've never really reached the point where I can say that I mastered it, unlike many other Nintendo releases.

Having said that, I've stuck with it all these years because the simplistic Tetris-like format works. Although Dr. Luigi doesn't really change a whole lot, it's still the same "Dr." formula you know and love, with a few welcome twists.

Dr. Luigi (Wii U)
Developer: Nintendo, Arika
Publisher: Nintendo
Released: December 31, 2013 (US) / January 15, 2014 (EU)
MSRP: $14.99

You can tell from the get-go that Dr. Luigi is a fairly slim package. As an eShop download, you'll get four modes -- Retro Remedy (traditional Dr. Mario-style puzzles), Operation L (L-shaped pills), Virus Buster (Wii U GamePad), and Online Battle. You may notice the omission of a story type mode, which is a major bummer.

Retro Remedy is essentially the same exact game you've known and loved since 1990. You can tinker with the amount of viruses on each board, mess with the speed, and pick your classic Dr. Mario tune to listen to in the background. Honestly, that's about all there is to it. Although it's not a particularly exciting addition, I'm glad it was included, as the main attraction (Operation L) may be polarizing for some.

Operation L is the meat of Dr. Luigi, and after playing it extensively, I'm kind of indifferent to it. Instead of using the classic "two block" pills like Retro Remedy, you'll deal with L-shaped pill packets instead. It sounds really underwhelming when you say it out loud, I know, but it actually changes up the core gameplay quite a bit.

Now, you're actually fighting for space on each drop since every block takes up four spaces instead of two. It's much harder to plan ahead and figure out where each block can go (especially on higher speeds) when you have to worry about so many combinations of colors, and as a result, it can get a bit hectic.

Both modes can be played in the classic "unlimited" manner (destroy all the viruses), or in "Rush Mode," which only requires you to defeat some of them -- you can also play against an AI opponent if you're going at it alone. As an added bonus, Retro Remedy features the classic Dr. Mario soundtrack, with Operation L sporting its own tracks. Visually, Dr. Luigi isn't a showstopper, but it's bright, vibrant, and incredibly smooth all around.

If you have a partner on the ready, local two-player support is available for Retro Remedy and Operation L, with support for both classic and Rush gametypes. The the first player commandeers the GamePad, with second player making use of a Wii U Pro Controller, Wii Remote, or a Remote with a Classic Controller Pro. As is customary, each player can have a different difficulty or speed setting, allowing newcomers to get a hold on things while playing against veterans.

Both of the core modes are also playable online through the "Online Battle" mode, which grants you the ability to play with random match-made people or with specific friends on your list. Online play works well so far, as I was able to match-up with multiple players within 30 seconds of one another. There's a rudimentary ranking system that will grant you points for winning and deduct points for losing, but that's pretty much all you're going to get.

But the real kicker in Dr. Luigi is Virus Buster -- an ancillary solo-only addition which is by far my favorite mode. Playable only with the GamePad, you'll use the stylus to manipulate pills with an optional horizontal or vertical setup (with support for left- and right-handed people). It sounds straightforward, but now that you have the ability to quickly move pills, Dr. Luigi throws you a curve-ball -- multiple pills will now drop at the same time instead of in sequence.

It's a bit more action-oriented than before, as you're struggling to quickly find places for two or three pills within seconds of one another. To make things even more interesting, when singular "pieces" break off, they in turn can be manipulated as well -- so at any given point, you're dealing with multiple options. It creates a hectic feel that I enjoyed much more than I thought I would, and it's actually become my mode of choice. I really, really wish the Wii U supported two GamePads for multiplayer, because it would have easily been one of my go-to party games with that addition. In case you're wondering, every mode supports Remote Play.

Outside of Virus Buster, Dr. Luigi is very much a no-frills game mostly for fans of the Dr. series. If you don't find yourself getting excited at the prospect of L-shaped blocks or GamePad play though, you might as well just stick with Dr. Mario Online Rx. Either way, the Wii U's newest entry in the Dr. series is a nice cap on a great first Year of Luigi.



THE VERDICT - Dr. Luigi

Reviewed by Chris Carter

7.5 /10
Good: A solid game that definitely has an audience. Might lack replay value, could be too short or there are some hard-to-ignore faults, but the experience is fun. Check out more reviews or the Destructoid score guide.








Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.





timeline following:
Dr. Luigi



2:00 PM on 01.01.2014
The Year of Luigi 2013: A Retrospective

In case you've been living under a rock for the past year, Nintendo has been running a fun promotion throughout 2013: the Year of Luigi. The goal is simple -- to celebrate the part of the Mario duo that is often describe...more



7:00 PM on 12.31.2013
Very Quick Tips: Dr. Luigi

Dr. Luigi is out today, and it not only signals the end of 2013, but the end of the first Year of Luigi as well. While most of it is pretty straightforward for Dr. Mario fans (the game even has a classic Dr. Mario mode), there are some new concepts that might make things a bit tricky. Here are a few basic tips to help you get started.more



8:25 AM on 12.18.2013
Dr. Luigi is a new Dr. Mario for the Wii U

"Doctor Luigi is in the house." That opening line from Iwata during this morning's Nintendo Direct may have shook the Earth, and I'm still recovering. That's right, Dr. Luigi is still coming to the Wii U on December 31st...more




nintendo

9:00 PM on 09.29.2014
My favorite part of Hyrule Warriors is not at all what I was expecting

I'm only several hours into Hyrule Warriors and while there's already a lot to like here, I think I've figured out what my favorite part of the game is: a song. Specifically, "Zelda's Lullaby." It has been featured prominent...more



1:30 PM on 09.29.2014
Giant characters in Super Smash Bros. are a glitch, sometimes

Giant characters are nothing new for the Super Smash Bros. series but not like this. Not like this. It seems that in Smash Bros. for 3DS, Yoshi's Egg Lay move has the ability to make large CPU characters even larger in Multi...more



11:30 AM on 09.29.2014
Nintendo is serious with 3DS themes, will have nearly 50 in Japan at launch

When I first heard of the upcoming 3DS theme concept, I wasn't super hopeful. I thought that Nintendo would probably put up a few major ones (Zelda and Mario), and completely forget about it over the course of a few weeks. Bu...more



View all nintendo






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more