Note: iOS 9 + Facebook users w/ trouble scrolling: #super sorry# we hope to fix it asap. In the meantime Chrome Mobile is a reach around
hot  /  reviews  /  videos  /  cblogs  /  qposts

Capcom Arcade Cabinet
 BLOG ABOUT THIS

Review: Capcom Arcade Cabinet

4:00 AM on 02.19.2013 // Dale North
  @DaleNorth

8-bit arcade amusement

Last year I kicked off a project where I had every intention of going through my entire game collection, from the 8-bit days through now, to find how many instances of the same game popped up in various game collection releases. I thought it would make for a neat feature. You know how it is; with each platform comes a reworking of a previous retro, franchise, or arcade game collection of some sort, and we keep adding them to our collections for some strange reason. I never finished counting, but the initial tally showed that for some of the more popular titles I had four or five digital copies of the same game. I'm sure it's even worse now!

The last thing we need is another collection of old games, right? That's what I thought until I saw what Capcom put into their $29.99 downloadable Arcade Cabinet collection. You might have a few of the 15 arcade games from the years 1984-1988 in your library, but most of what's offered here is a bit harder to come by, and all come with new features, so any good game hoarder like myself would be happy to add these titles to their collection.

Capcom Arcade Cabinet (PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 [both used for review])
Developer: Capcom
Publisher: Capcom
Released: February 19, 2013 
MSRP: Varied DLC pricing, $29.99 bundle (available May 21)

Upon initial download, Arcade Cabinet is essentially a container for the 15 games Capcom plans to release as game packs from February 19 through the middle of May. It comes with a demo for one game, side scrolling fighter Black Tiger. The first game pack comes available today for $4.99 or 400 Microsoft Points, and it includes Black Tiger, Avengers, and 1943: The Battle of Midway. A steady stream of packs and individual titles will continue to drop in the following weeks, on a bi-weekly schedule. The release schedule and pricing are as follows.

Note that individual titles from game packs beyond the first offering will be available in the weeks after each pack's initial release. All of the individual titles are priced at $3.99, or 320 Microsoft Points.

Game Pack 1 – Available February 19/20 for $4.99/400MSP
-Black Tiger 
-1943: Battle of Midway 
-Avenger

Game Pack 2 – Available March 5/6 for $9.99/800MSP 
-Ghosts ‘n Goblins  
-Gun.Smoke  
-Section Z

Game Pack 3 – Available March 19/20 for $9.99//800MSP 
-Side Arms
-Legendary Wings
-Trojan

Game Pack 4 – Available April 2/3 for $9.99//800MSP
-Commando
-The Speed Rumbler
-Exed Exes (Savage Bees)

Game Pack 5 – Available April 16/17 for $9.99/800MSP
-1942
-SonSon
-Pirate Ship Higemaru

Two bonus games will be made available to those that purchase all 15 titles in an unlock. Capcom asked us not to reveal the names of these titles, but Google is your friend.

If you don't mind waiting until May 21, All 17 games will be made available in a pack for $29.99 or 2,000 Microsoft Points. Compare this price to the $45 it would cost to buy each of the 5 game packs individually, or the $53 it would cost to buy each game individually. I believe Capcom is doing a disservice to those that would like to purchase all of the games of the collection from the beginning. There is no good reason for making them wait nearly three months to get the discounted rate. If anything, it makes more sense to make the ones that want to buy individual titles wait. This is a slight mark against an otherwise excellent collection of arcade games. 

And while we're on small gripes, for strange and unclear technical reasons, the PSN version of Black Tiger will give players unlimited continues in the initial download of Arcade Cabinet, but XBLA players only get one continue, though they can restart as many times as they'd like. That's less on Capcom and more on the platform demo release rules, though. 

With all of that out of the way, I can tell you that Arcade Cabinet is a great collection of arcade gems. As a gamer in their mid-30s that grew up in Tokyo, I have fond memories of dumping Yen into many of these classics. Understand that some of my fondness for this collection relates to how nostalgia pulls on the heartstrings. Arcade Cabinet does a fine job at that.

In the favorites category, I burned more hours on the super Japanese barrel rolling maze game Pirate Ship Higemaru than anything else last week. It's got that frantic throw/chase feeling that Bomberman gives you, but it has quite a bit more facial hair and striped shirts. Space jetpack shooter Section Z is a ball buster for sure, but something about it keeps you coming back. I think it's the impossibly slick music -- nothing sounded as good as this back in the 1980s. I also have a soft spot in my heart for SonSon, the endlessly scrolling platformer based on the Chinese Journey to the West fables. It's just so weird.

And while I've been playing some of these vertical and horizontal shooters for decades now, I'm still not good at most of them. It's amazing how unlimited virtual quarters can keep you in a game, though. I managed to reach previously unseen stages in favorites 1942 and 1943: Battle of Midway. I wasn't any better at Side Arms, but blowing things up with heavily armed robots is a bit easier than with WWII era prop planes.

As for the games that everyone will love, count titles like Ghosts 'n Goblins, Commando, and its western variant, Gun.Smoke, in that category. These are titles with gameplay so good that they still hold up nicely some 25 or so years later. Commando still has the best snare drum sound of any videogame soundtrack ever, though that has nothing to do with gameplay. Who wouldn't love to get back into Legendary Wings and its mix of shooting, side-scrolling exploration, and eye-popping (for the time, anyway) graphics. Even the initial free selection, badass-with-a-sword side-scrolling brawler Black Tiger, is a solid selection, though the difficulty might have you cursing at the screen. It's a quarter muncher if there ever was one.

There's bound to be a few titles that won't speak to you individually in any collection. With its combination of on-foot and car play, The Speed Rumbler kind of reminds me of a really early Grand Theft Auto, though it's more of a mess, and much harder to drive in. Top-down brawler Avengers and sword-and-shield side scroller Trojan were my least liked. Trojan in particular. It doesn't have that classic shine that many of these others have. Oh, and it's too damned hard. I found that I stopped wanting to use my endless supply of virtual quarters on this title. Sure, you could switch on Arcade Cabinet's dumb-it-down casual mode, but what's the fun in that? 

All in all, this is a nice mix. Most of these titles have lasting power for me as digital games that I can quickly boot up and enjoy. A few things are missing, like late 1980s title Forgotten Worlds, though it may place just outside of their mid-80s time bracket. The other titles that are coming up in your head as missing are probably ones from the 1990's. Let's hope that Capcom does a collection for that era as a sequel to this. CPS2, please!

It's nice to see that some care went into resurrecting some of the games that put Capcom on the map in this collection. First off, every game is represented beautifully, with full HD renditions that do not seem to tinker too much under the hood. The sound work is top notch, and goes a long way toward bringing you back to those days alongside the visuals. I love that an included music player lets you dial up the songs from the collection's soundtracks as you please too. 

The biggest addition, and probably one of the main selling points of Arcade Cabinet, is that every two-player title supports online play over PSN or XBLA. Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to test out this early review code online. We'll update with impressions after launch.

And as you'd expect, online leaderboards, Achievements, and Trophies have also been added to these classic titles. 

For those that like to dig down deep, Capcom has added full dip-switch functionality to all titles. If you don't mind messing with the original formula, feel free to play with difficulty settings or life counts. Cheater.

Even the presentation is nice. Arcade Cabinet's menu is a lovely graphic that smashes together key characters and assets from all of the collection's games. You select the game you'd like by highlighting one of the many outlines in the graphic, and from there you're presented with a more standard menu. Adding to the slick presentation are unlockables; you'll find that bonus art, songs, and other goodies will unlock as you play thorough these games. A sort of museum menu lets you select any of your unlocked games to read about its background history. 

Finally, some system specific social features have been added to Arcade Cabinet. PS3 users can capture replays and upload them directly to YouTube. Xbox 360 users get screenshot posting to Facebook instead.

The main draw for me for Arcade Collection is that I don't have to dig out any older systems or pop in any discs to enjoy these games. Being instantly accessible as PSN or XBLA downloads adds to their attractiveness for me as they make for perfect quick game fixes between bigger games. 

I do think that Capcom missed an opportunity with not releasing this collection for the Vita, as their work on it would have translated beautifully to the small screen. And Wii U owners are going to be up in arms about being skipped over. 

If you don't mind waiting until late May, Arcade Cabinet represents a decent value for the discounted $29.99 asking price over the $45 you'd pay for the five packs. I'm certain I spent over $50 in quarters in playing these titles for this review, if you'd like to look at it that way.

Of course, if you already have some of Capcom's other collections, you'll need to decide for yourself if the online and social features make these re-releases worth the outlay. As far as titles go, there's nothing that could be considered new in the collection, though the new online features and presentation should not be glossed over. 



THE VERDICT

8

Capcom Arcade Cabinet - Reviewed by Dale North
Charming - Not perfect, but it's easy to ignore the rough spots when faced with so many engaging design decisions and entertaining moments. A memorable game that's hard not to like and recommend to others.

See more reviews or the Destructoid score guide.

Dale North, Former Dtoid EIC
 Follow Blog + disclosure DaleNorth Tips
I am Destructoid's Editor-In-Chief. I love corgis. I make music. more   |   staff directory





 Setup email comments

Unsavory comments? Please report harassment, spam, and hate speech to our community fisters, and flag the user (we will ban users dishing bad karma). Can't see comments? Apps like Avast or browser extensions can cause it. You can fix it by adding *.disqus.com to your whitelists.

destructoid's previous coverage:
Capcom Arcade Cabinet


  Apr 16

Games from 1984 hit Capcom Arcade Cabinet

1942, SonSon and Pirate Ship Higemaru


View all:powered by:  MM.Elephant

Ads on destructoid may be purchased from:



Please contact Crave Online, thanks!


Summer Wars: The Video Gameā€¦.I mean Digimon: Cyber Sleuth

Gaming's Beautiful People #4: Valentine's Day Special OR Love Multi-Kills

Exist Archive: The Other Side Of The Sky Import Review

Stupid Teens Do Stupid Things: An Oxenfree Critique

A blog test. Brought to you by Buckner & Garcia

Cblogs of 2/11/16, 2/12/16 + Firethoughts

PS+ Games of the Month January 2016 - Feat. GajKnight and SolarPonyDjango

Your Opinions On Racing Games Are Stupid

The Nerds Have Won

Emily Wants To Play has come to mobile (and I wish it would go away again)

 Add your impressions

 Quickposts
Status updates from C-bloggers

Dreamweaver avatarDreamweaver
I'm not gonna lie, I don't feel "good" about the upcoming "ignore" feature. Maybe it's just me, but I don't like the idea that people can mute other people because they don't agree with them. Spammers and trolls, sure, but not regular community members.
Gundy avatarGundy
Oh man. Those Next Gen transformations in Megadimension Neptunia are legit as fuck!
TysonOfTime avatarTysonOfTime
The first thing I do when I see clickbait is click on it and complain about clickbait.
LinkSlayer64 avatarLinkSlayer64
Wow, uh, after having a lovely time with Kirby Air Ride, I decided to try playing some melee, for old times sake... I pretty much disliked my whole time with it. More details in a comment if I get around to it.
Jiraya avatarJiraya
Help me gather games for a new blog series - "Worst Sequels Ever"
Niero Desu avatarNiero Desu
The backend code on the site so fun to read. Going through some of Julio's old stuff: if($vars["fappers"]){ $fappoids = 0; $_xt_loop_name = "fappers"; $vars["fappers_cnt"] = count($vars["fappers"]); reset($vars["fappers"]);
BaronVonSnakPak avatarBaronVonSnakPak
Watching the second Guyver Movie: Dark Hero, starring David -Solid Snake- Hayter. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Roie47-Cuk
The Dyslexic Laywer avatarThe Dyslexic Laywer
You didn't think I forgot what day it is did you?
Nathan D avatarNathan D
Gonna retire the MOARgasmic avatar for awhile.
OrochiLeona avatarOrochiLeona
Will you be mine?
Pixie The Fairy avatarPixie The Fairy
Got out of Deadpool. It definitely was a movie with Deadpool in it. Some parents were shocked to learn it was also rated R for a reason.
Sarah Jane farron avatarSarah Jane farron
So... gender and biology. All I'll say here is please respect people and their identities and don't try to push assumptions as fact. It doesn't need to be said to most here but denying people their identities is pretty harmful and very unpleasant.
Niwannabe avatarNiwannabe
Any PS4 recommendations for a guy who can't afford PS+, since all I've got is Battlefront and there's next to nothing to do in that game?
Niero Desu avatarNiero Desu
if you were experiencing lag with the dev site today, can you please try again? I moved some js around and am loading smaller avatars for people. some quickpost photos are scaled from gigantic raw uploads so we are optimizing those next to zip things up
Terry 309 avatarTerry 309
It's happening people... they're gonna kill off my favourite character... but he's taking someone else with him *massive spoilers in video*
FakePlasticTree avatarFakePlasticTree
Can I just say that I really dig the intro music for Yakuza 5? It's pumping!
Fuzunga avatarFuzunga
Hmm... yeah, this seems right.
Dreamweaver avatarDreamweaver
Would anyone be willing to help out dear ol' Dreamweaver with Destiny? Need a partner to tackle 7+ matches of Crimson Doubles for that 320 Light Ghost Shell. Will have to work on Comments of the Week first, but will be on later. I suck at the game though.
CoilWhine avatarCoilWhine
I'm not digging Trine too much. It has really screwy controls.
ShadeOfLight avatarShadeOfLight
Sonic the Hedgehog's Twitter account gave dating advice here: http://www.gamesradar.com/dating-advice-real-sonic-hedgehog/ I am now significantly less bitter about Valentine's Day.
more quickposts


Contest!


Seriously

Invert site colors

  Dark Theme
  Light Theme


Destructoid means family.
Living the dream, since 2006

Pssst. konami code + enter

modernmethod logo



Back to Top


We follow moms on   Facebook  and   Twitter
  Light Theme      Dark Theme
Pssst. Konami Code + Enter!
You may remix stuff our site under creative commons w/@
- Destructoid means family. Living the dream, since 2006 -