Oh, Sony isn't going to be too happy about this one. It seems that some very clever Nintendo DSi fan has registered PSPgo.co.uk and turned it into a giant advertisement for how amazing the DSi is. Heading over to the site will bring you to an incredibly professional looking page that does absolutely nothing to convince you to get a PSPgo and absolutely everything it possibly can to show you how nifty the DSi is. Everything on the site links back to Nintendo's official pages too.
Who knows who put this together, but one can bet they might be getting a pretty penny from Sony at some point considering that PSPgo.co.uk is probably a domain Sony wanted to set up a site on. Of course there is no PSPgo.com either, so maybe they weren't planning on using the url, but I'm guessing it's one that will be visited every so often anyway. I'm sure it won't be that big of a deal, but it's definitely good for a laugh.
Matthew Razak is Destructoid's Associate editor and co-founder of film site
Flixist. He began as community member "cowzilla" and was since sequestered to write brainy features material. He lives in Los Angeles with his beautiful wife.
Likes
Games! Movies! Hats!
Meet the rest of the team
| BBcode help |
| [b]Bold text[/b] |
Bold text |
| [i]Italic text[/i] |
Italic text |
| [url]http://www.dtoid.com/[/url] |
http://www.dtoid.com |
| [url=http://www.dtoid.com/]Web link[/url] |
Web link |
| [img]http://www.example.com/robot.jpg[/img] |
 |
Post a comment! You can also post a photo below:
Comment with Facebook
Click connect and comment instantly!
|
Comment with Dtoid
New? SIGN UP - it takes 5 seconds
|
42 comments | showing # 1 to 42
|
Comment with Facebook
Click connect and comment instantly!
|
Comment with Dtoid
New? SIGN UP - it takes 5 seconds
|
Comments policy
Destructoid is an open discussion community. You don't need to "audition" to post a comment - just speak your mind. We respect differing opinions on the site, so have at it. Be smart, funny, insightful, clueless, or cute -- but back it up with substance. Keep your cool, keep it fun. We only ask that you act respectfully and above all: don't be a troll and ruin it for everyone else. Don't bring down gamers or we'll, you know, gently shoot you in the face and stuff you into a flaming mailbox. Each comment is your opportuntity to make this community awesomer. Is that even a word?
Avoiding the banhammer only requires common sense: spamming, trolling, racism, NSFW stuff, and other forms of sucking will not be tolerated. If anyone is griefing please report abuse. Be good. Don't suck!
Also it's PSP-GO with a hyphen... put that in and in completely changes the destination.
So really.. there is absolutely no point in this article!
Totally agree. I never understood gamers hating eachother based on their preferences and weird ass loyalty to corporations that just want their money. You don't see this type of behavior in other areas of entertainment.
I giggled at it. I don't really see any need to take offense to it though. It's just like a rick-roll, you go expecting one thing and see another thing. Who's gonna tell me the first time they got rick-rolled, they didn't laugh or at least think "Oh, they got me good!" There is no malicious intent towards PSP Go, it doesn't say "Hey, go buy a DS instead because it's superior," it's just a silly prank. If you can't accept it as just that, you're taking the console wars too seriously.
If sony wanted to buy the domain.
Why even bother trying to ruin a TINY bit of the PSPGO? Nintendo still has a firm ball-grip on like 80% of the handheld market.
Nothing wrong with a little bit of dirty marketing. :D
At least as far as I can recall.
Nintendoes what Sony doesn't;
My favorite part of that image is "cameras suck".
Interviewer: It seems the new rage is to place camera devices in handhelds, but this is missing from the PSPgo. Why is that?
Sony: Because cameras suck!
That said, it was pretty foolish that sony didn't go and snap up all the site names and its possible variants. Most companies nowadays do this before the official name even gets released.
pspgo.com is owned by Brights Consulting Inc. It's like a brand management firm. I guess Sony uses them?
put PSP-GO.com into the address bar and it links straight to Sony PSP-GO webpage.
But it's only one sad notch up - the domain owner has blatantly done it to shake some money from Sony.