Quantcast
MAGFest 9 has killer guest lineup, includes HAWP cast - Destructoid

DestructoidJapanatorTomopopFlixist



MAGFest 9 has killer guest lineup, includes HAWP cast


3:20 PM on 10.05.2010
MAGFest 9 has killer guest lineup, includes HAWP cast photo



MAGFest is probably my favorite convention/gaming event ever. Where else can you play games for days on end, only to stop to get your face rocked off by multiple game music concerts. All my friends are there, we all drink and laugh and do stupid things we regret, which are captured in pictures we regret. It's always fun. This year the event has the biggest guest line-up in their nine year history, and it includes some people you should be familiar with. 

The MAGFest 9 guests you'll notice most are obviously Ashly Burch, Anthony Burch, and Ashley Davis, from "Hey Ash, Whatcha Playin'?" and "Once Upon a Pixel." We support our own, so we'll list them first! On a more personal note, my boys from The OneUps will also be performing live. Please come out to support my people!

Jon St. Jon, the voice of Duke Nukem, will also be a guest, as will Wes Johnson, the voice actor known for roles in Oblivion and Fallout 3

Plenty of game music composers will also show face at this game music-focused event. Hiroki Kikuta, the guy behind the awesome Secret of Mana and Seiken Densetsu 3 scores, will also be there. So will Grant Kirkhope (Goldeneye 64), Dan Froelich (Jill of the Jungle), and Alexander Brandon (Dues Ex, Unreal Tournament).

Oh, and the bands! Aside from The OneUps, there are eleven more showing up: The Protomen, The Miniboses, Metroid Metal, Armcannon, Bit Brigade, The Megas, Year 200X, X-Hunters, Entertainment System, This Place Is Haunted and Rare Candy. Get ready for the best game music concerts ever. Find more details after the jump.

We'll also be there! I'll be there. Many other Destructoid community members will also be there. There's a party being planned. Please come out to hang out, game, and support these awesome people. MAGFest 9 takes place on January 13-16, 2011, in Alexandria, Virginia, at the lovely Hilton Mark Center. See you there!  

Featured Guests:

Jon St. John (http://jsjprod.com/) - World renowned voice actor, known best for his role as "Duke Nukem".
Wes Johnson (http://wesjohnson.com/) - Voice actor in Oblivion, Fallout 3, and announcer for the Washington Capitals.
Ashly Burch, Anthony Burch, and Ashley Davis (http://www.heyash.com/) - Creators and stars of “Hey Ash, Whatcha Playin’?” and “Once Upon a Pixel.”
Scott Ramsoomair (http://www.vgcats.com/) - Creator/artist of the webcomic VGCats.
(more to be announced in the future)

Video Game Composers:

Hiroki Kikuta (http://hirokikikuta.com/) - Secret of Mana, Seiken Densetsu 3
Alexander Brandon (http://www.alexanderbrandon.net/) - Deus Ex, Unreal Tournament, Tyrian
Grant Kirkhope (http://www.grantkirkhope.com/)- Goldeneye 64, Perfect Dark, Banjo series.
Dan Froelich (http://www.danfroelich.com/) - Jill of the Jungle, Solar Winds

Featured Game Music Bands:

The Protomen (http://www.protomen.com/)
The Minibosses (http://www.minibosses.com/)
The OneUps (http://www.theoneups.com/)
Metroid Metal (http://metroidmetal.com/)
Armcannon (http://armcannon.com/)
Bit Brigade (http://www.bitbrigade.com/)
The Megas (http://themegas.com/)
Year 200X (http://year200xband.com/)
X-Hunters (http://www.myspace.com/thexhunters)
Entertainment System (http://www.myspace.com/entertainmentsystem)
This Place Is Haunted (http://thisplaceishaunted.com/)
Rare Candy (http://www.rarecandyband.com/)

 






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.








Win your choice of console from Destructoid! in Destructoid's Hangs on LockerDome

Events

1:00 PM on 07.17.2014
Nintendo's Comic-Con lineup includes Super Smash Bros., Hyrule Warriors

Nintendo is calling their San Diego Comic-Con lineup their biggest ever. To me it looks like they packed up their E3 showing and saved it for SDCC. That's great news as their E3 showing was fantastic.  They're back at th...more



10:15 AM on 07.17.2014
Sony's gamescom press conference set for August 12

Sony's gamescom press conference will take place on Tuesday, August 12 at 7:00 p.m., says Videogamer. There's no indication of what to expect at their media event, but my experience is that they always bring plenty of announc...more



9:11 AM on 07.17.2014
The Elder Scrolls Online is coming to Steam today

Announced at QuakeCon 2014 as a kick-off announcement, The Elder Scrolls Online is coming to Steam. Today. Both the Standard Edition and the Imperial Edition will be available for purchase later today.  It sounds like ev...more



View all Events






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more