Quantcast
Destructoid's Wii U review roundup - Destructoid




Game database:   #ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ         ALL     Xbox One     PS4     360     PS3     WiiU     Wii     PC     3DS     DS     PS Vita     PSP     iOS     Android



Destructoid's Wii U review roundup  photo
Destructoid's Wii U review roundup

7:15 PM on 11.18.2012

All the opinions, all the time, FOREVER!


The Wii U has finally launched across North America, and Destructoid has been on hand with a wide range of in-depth game reviews, as well as assessments of the hardware itself. We're not done yet, either! More reviews, more impressions, and more moreness are all coming, especially now several editors have gotten their hands on the system. 

As for now, we've got your one-stop shop for Dtoid Wii U reviews right here! Missed an opinion, or just want to reread some of the deranged rambling of a sleep-deprived launch reviewer? It's all here for easy access! Check it out below, and share in the great memories. 

Stay tuned for more! Warriors Orochi 3 Hyper, Chasing Aurora and more are all coming to Destructoid soon!

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge

As it stands, Razor's Edge is a slight improvement of something that needed to be thrown away and started again from scratch. A turd, Team Ninja demonstrates, can indeed be polished -- but it still stinks. [5.5/10]

Nintendo Land

Those unconvinced about what the Wii U can do would benefit from finding themselves a way of trying out Nintendo Land. It manages to do a lot with the system without, I believe, even scratching the surface of what more focused and dedicated videogames could achieve. It's a game meant to excite you more about the system you just purchased, and that is what it does. [7/10]

New Super Mario Bros. U

New Super Mario Bros. U is a great little platformer that kicks off the Wii U launch with a bang. Players know exactly what they're getting with this one -- an entertaining and incomplex bit of gaming that provides challenge and smirks in equal measure. While certainly a "safe" game to launch with, it is by no means unremarkable, and the only people who would fail to have fun are those with a fundamental aversion to Mario or platformers in general. [8.5/10]

Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition

If you only own Nintendo systems and love Batman, this remains a very worthy purchase, one that will give your hours of crimefighting enjoyment. If you've already played Arkham City, however, you'll be better off leaving it, because you already experienced the definitive version. [7/10]

Scribblenauts Unlimited

Scribblenauts Unlimited still serves some purpose as a playground of silly ideas, and it still has a measure of charm left over from its original incarnation, but when it comes time to actually play it, this is the most boring and monotonous game in the series. Anything it does well was already done in the portable installments, and the new structure is utterly tedious. [5/10]

ZombiU

It made me afraid to walk into rooms, it made me think twice before tackling two opponents at once, and it frequently reminded me I was weak, piteous, but maybe just careful and lucky enough to get through. 

And for as much as it screws up, ZombiU somehow does it well. [8/10]

Rabbids Land

Rabbids Land isn't awful, but it's wholly unnecessary for a system that's launching with Nintendo Land, a game that trounces Ubisoft's attempts in every conceivable way. Rabbids Land does nothing exciting with the new input, nor does it take advantage of what the Wii U can do in order to provide games more suited to the GamePad. Instead, it tries old tricks on a system that's not built with them in mind, and the result is something disposable that has no real value to anybody. [5/10]

Tank! Tank! Tank!

Tank! Tank! Tank! may be more fun in its original arcade form, but this Wii U release is clumsy, visually sub-par, and disrespectful of the player's time. While it revels in its own stupidity and hopes you'll do the same, it's one of those sad games that believes a ridiculous concept is enough to make for a worthwhile game, and in Tank! Tank! Tank!'s case, that's just not true. [4.5/10]

The Wii U hardware

I wish the Wii U all the success in the world, because I am behind it. Conceptually, it's exciting, and in practice it works. That's rare for new ideas in the game industry these days, and I feel it's a success that needs to be rewarded with publisher support. I foresee potential for an amazing library of not just exclusives, but multi-platform titles to boot, and I'm rather excited for it.






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.







Destructoid Originals

2:45 PM on 11.23.2014
Meet the creator of Sportsball, the 2nd best 4-player combat game on the Wii U

[Update: Show's over folks! We'll have the rerun up later in the week. Here's the latest Sportsball strategy profile in the meantime.] The new Smash Bros. is fantastic, but it's not the only 4-player arena-based competitive ...more



10:30 AM on 11.23.2014
How a little girl from Lebanon went on to develop games in Japan

[Sup Holmes is a weekly talk show for people that make great videogames. It airs live every Sunday at 4pm EST on Youtube, and can be found in Podcast form on Libsyn and iTunes.] Last week on Sup Holmes, w...more



10:30 AM on 11.21.2014
Just how rare are some of Nintendo's amiibo toys at launch?

While Nintendo provided me with the Link, Mario, and Kirby amiibo toys for testing with Super Smash Bros., acquiring the rest of the lot was completely up to me. So I decided to take a trip early this morning, survey any pote...more



View all Destructoid Originals






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more