Quantcast
Destructoid's Wii U review roundup - Destructoid

DestructoidJapanatorTomopopFlixist




Destructoid's Wii U review roundup  photo
Destructoid's Wii U review roundup

7:15 PM on 11.18.2012

All the opinions, all the time, FOREVER!


The Wii U has finally launched across North America, and Destructoid has been on hand with a wide range of in-depth game reviews, as well as assessments of the hardware itself. We're not done yet, either! More reviews, more impressions, and more moreness are all coming, especially now several editors have gotten their hands on the system. 

As for now, we've got your one-stop shop for Dtoid Wii U reviews right here! Missed an opinion, or just want to reread some of the deranged rambling of a sleep-deprived launch reviewer? It's all here for easy access! Check it out below, and share in the great memories. 

Stay tuned for more! Warriors Orochi 3 Hyper, Chasing Aurora and more are all coming to Destructoid soon!

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge

As it stands, Razor's Edge is a slight improvement of something that needed to be thrown away and started again from scratch. A turd, Team Ninja demonstrates, can indeed be polished -- but it still stinks. [5.5/10]

Nintendo Land

Those unconvinced about what the Wii U can do would benefit from finding themselves a way of trying out Nintendo Land. It manages to do a lot with the system without, I believe, even scratching the surface of what more focused and dedicated videogames could achieve. It's a game meant to excite you more about the system you just purchased, and that is what it does. [7/10]

New Super Mario Bros. U

New Super Mario Bros. U is a great little platformer that kicks off the Wii U launch with a bang. Players know exactly what they're getting with this one -- an entertaining and incomplex bit of gaming that provides challenge and smirks in equal measure. While certainly a "safe" game to launch with, it is by no means unremarkable, and the only people who would fail to have fun are those with a fundamental aversion to Mario or platformers in general. [8.5/10]

Batman: Arkham City Armored Edition

If you only own Nintendo systems and love Batman, this remains a very worthy purchase, one that will give your hours of crimefighting enjoyment. If you've already played Arkham City, however, you'll be better off leaving it, because you already experienced the definitive version. [7/10]

Scribblenauts Unlimited

Scribblenauts Unlimited still serves some purpose as a playground of silly ideas, and it still has a measure of charm left over from its original incarnation, but when it comes time to actually play it, this is the most boring and monotonous game in the series. Anything it does well was already done in the portable installments, and the new structure is utterly tedious. [5/10]

ZombiU

It made me afraid to walk into rooms, it made me think twice before tackling two opponents at once, and it frequently reminded me I was weak, piteous, but maybe just careful and lucky enough to get through. 

And for as much as it screws up, ZombiU somehow does it well. [8/10]

Rabbids Land

Rabbids Land isn't awful, but it's wholly unnecessary for a system that's launching with Nintendo Land, a game that trounces Ubisoft's attempts in every conceivable way. Rabbids Land does nothing exciting with the new input, nor does it take advantage of what the Wii U can do in order to provide games more suited to the GamePad. Instead, it tries old tricks on a system that's not built with them in mind, and the result is something disposable that has no real value to anybody. [5/10]

Tank! Tank! Tank!

Tank! Tank! Tank! may be more fun in its original arcade form, but this Wii U release is clumsy, visually sub-par, and disrespectful of the player's time. While it revels in its own stupidity and hopes you'll do the same, it's one of those sad games that believes a ridiculous concept is enough to make for a worthwhile game, and in Tank! Tank! Tank!'s case, that's just not true. [4.5/10]

The Wii U hardware

I wish the Wii U all the success in the world, because I am behind it. Conceptually, it's exciting, and in practice it works. That's rare for new ideas in the game industry these days, and I feel it's a success that needs to be rewarded with publisher support. I foresee potential for an amazing library of not just exclusives, but multi-platform titles to boot, and I'm rather excited for it.






Comments not appearing? Anti-virus apps like Avast or some browser extensions can cause this.
Easy fix: Add   [*].disqus.com   to your software's white list. Tada! Happy comments time again.

Did you know? You can now get daily or weekly email notifications when humans reply to your comments.







Win your choice of console from Destructoid! in Destructoid's Hangs on LockerDome

Destructoid Originals

1:00 PM on 07.26.2014
There are Hawaiian Shirts in Sunset Overdrive!

As we recently learned, Sunset Overdrive lets players protect their genitals with the head of a green kangaroo, which is a very silly idea. But is that silly enough, in this post-Saints Row world? The answer is "who cares?" because there are also Hawaiian Shirts and Hawaiian Shirts are my jam.more



12:00 PM on 07.26.2014
The best stuff on Destructoid this week [7/26]

Let's get away for the weekend, just you and me. I know this little place on the coast. Nice restaurant, view of the water from the cliff side. We could probably sleep in the car in the parking lot and hang out on the beach a...more



8:00 PM on 07.25.2014
What's Up? Our panel at PAX Prime 2014, Far Cry 4, Destiny Beta, Vietnam & a ferret

Max and I thought it would be a good idea to keep everyone posted on our goings-on. This was spurned by many, many people wondering why we've been filming in Max's actual kitchen. We answer this question, and some y'all have...more



View all Destructoid Originals






Back to Top




All content is yours to recycle through our Creative Commons License permitting non-commercial sharing requiring attribution. Our communities are obsessed with videoGames, movies, anime, and toys.

Living the dream since March 16, 2006

Advertising on destructoid is available: Please contact them to learn more