LOVES PHISHING GAMEZ AND SUCKERS!
As if there wasn't a bigger dick move to pull on people, apparently all those people who willingly gave up their email and some variation on their personal pin number (face it, we all have the same fucking password for everything) on Dreamcast.com's website were all suckers for a phishing scam.
Sega does not own the
Dreamcast.com domain anymore. Their listed registration information on whois is false.
Congrats. Now, as that strange itching sensation starts to creep in on your butthole, you'd be well advised to
ditch the new 012345678@dreamcast.com email you now own, changing your password on your regular email, and making sure you didn't do something totally retarded like use your social security number.
For future reference, please take care to note if the website you're divulging your personal information on has a secure site page. This is notated by the "https://" part of the address usually with some sort of LOCK symbol somewhere on your browser. If you don't see either of these, you're on your own, Cochese.
Source
O NOES!
Dude, WTF? Like it's not possible for a phisher to get an SSL certificate?
The ONLY thing the lock and the "https" tell you is that your communication between you and the web page you're on is encrypted. It doesn't tell you the web page is in anyway who they purport to be.